PDA

View Full Version : new to sw

dvlax40
09/21/2007, 11:25 PM
ok i am new to this but have been readding about nanos for quite some time, my question is , do any of the stores in the valley sell the current usa nova extreme x2T5HO light ? also any pointers or people who live near awahtukee that wanna help, it would be very appericiated. im excited to get into reef keeping, i gew up near the ocean, and decided if i cantget back to the ocean ill bring it to me haha

JMCAquarium
09/21/2007, 11:39 PM
Welcome and hope to see you at the meeting that would be the best way to learn and meet people. As your ready you can let everyone know and you can get some freebies or frags cheap to start up your nano. I'll hook u up with shrooms
Jonathan

jasonh
09/21/2007, 11:53 PM
Jonathan,

can you hook me up with some shrooms? :)

dvlax40
09/21/2007, 11:54 PM
wow thats realiy nice, thank you , yeah i have everything pretty much but the light an the LR/LS, but after reading some horror stories about cyano im thinking about getting another power head.. is there such a thing as too much flow? my tank is a 10G and my power head flows like 245gph.

wilson0204
09/22/2007, 01:44 AM
http://i157.photobucket.com/albums/t64/wilson0204/133377RC_welcome1.gif
To Reef Central

JMCAquarium
09/22/2007, 02:52 AM
NEVER CAN HAVE TO MUCH FLOW. But your corals have to be able to take it if to hard or fast the corals with withdraw and never come out and or die. (Example I had colony of brown zoo's at least 150-200 heads one of my powerheads upset my tang and he battled it during the night aiming it right at my zoo's in the morning I only had about 75 left stuck to the rock the others were torn from there perch and were floating about in clumps.)
Pluses to this I now have like 15 colonies of brown zoo's all over the tank.
Neg. to this I lost my center peice coral a beautiful covering of zoo's. now they are growing back but not as full and pretty looking as they once were.

JMCAquarium