PDA

View Full Version : CA, Alk, and Calcium Reactor Question

wayne
12/30/2000, 01:02 PM
I've had a lifefeef calcium reactor for a few months now, and a friend just checked my CA and Alk for me. This resulted in CA of 395 and Alk of 1.94. These tests were done with a Salifert test kit. My Ph seems to be low most of the time... 7.6 in the morning and 8.1 in the evening.

I have a "burst" of bubbles in the Bubble counter about every second. I have the effluent entering the sump at a slow steady stream.

I am wondering what buffering method I need to use to increase Alk?

Also, to increase the CA, should I decrease the effluent rate (so the water circulates through the media more), raise the CO2 rate (to increase the CO2 levels in the reactor), or a combination of the two, or something else entirely.

I am not a scientist and the Calcium Reactor is new technology to me, so be gentle. The tank and most of it's inhabitants can be seen in my sig. Also, I have recently added MH lighting to the tank. They are on a total of 5 hours last week, going to 6 hours today. I have been increasing the time by 1 hour for the last 4 weeks.

Sorry for the length, but thanks for any help you can give.

[Edited by wayne on 12-30-2000 at 12:09 PM]

MIKE
12/30/2000, 02:41 PM
Hi Wayne,

You don't mention the measurement standard for the alkalinity - dkh or meq/ltr? Either way, it's on the low side but not an emergency. You also don't mention how you measure ph. This is critical as ph measurements are difficult, yet important with using a reactor.