PDA

View Full Version : Help, Bristle-Tooth Tang looking very thin.

woodycb
07/14/2007, 09:59 PM
Could it be an internal parasite. He eats a ton when I feed, but he seems he is getting smaller for some reason.

Jerry W
07/14/2007, 10:44 PM
What are you feeding? How long have you had it and when did the problem become noticeable?
Internal parasites or an internal bacterial infection could be the problem.

Kati
07/15/2007, 01:35 AM
Maybe he is not getting enough "green stuff" tangs need a lot of sea weed kind of stuff. I recommend formula 2, and maybe some dried sea weed- I can't remember what kind I use... I'm no expert, but when tangs get skinny for no reason I have notcied that usually they are not being properly fed.

woodycb
07/15/2007, 05:58 AM
I feed frozen brine shrimp or frozen mysis shrimp every other night. I feed dried seaweed when ever I remember to throw some in there. I noticed it about a week ago and I have had him for a about 6mos. His behavior has not changed at all.

itsthesong
07/15/2007, 11:09 AM
I like to feed formula 2, frozen cube form, to my fish with the addition of mysis shrimp and garlixtreme (to boost immune system and appetite). I also supplement during the day with nori and romaine lettuce. I have found, especially with the tangs, it is best to always have something in the tank for them to snack on since they are grazers by nature.

Sk8r
07/15/2007, 11:12 AM
Second the formula 2: it has squid to attract fish, but has strong dose of veggies with lots of vitamins; also try soaking frozen mysis in Zoe brand amino acid soup: just received word from my lfs that Mr. Tang's 3rd owner finally got him cured of hlle by using that, and his eating habits were exactly what you describe---chowing down on mysis, which isn't at all what he needs.

Gary Majchrzak
07/15/2007, 11:12 AM
what type of Bristletooth Tang?
do you have algae growing on the surfaces of your aquarium?
Try feeding it more often.