PDA

View Full Version : Adtvs. & Suplmts. in NANO reefs

camocustom
06/15/2007, 08:43 AM
In larger reef tanks I have never been a fan of adding too many chemicals or suppliments, Just because it is not natural, i know that calcium and other minerals are used up and vit. and minerals are taken out my Protein skimming, can somebody compile a list of supplements that you use? and recommend which to use...I was thinking of using only the following, gonna have softies only in my nano....iodine, strontium, nano calcium/alk a+b, and trace minerals, and some phytoplankton later on....what do you think??? PLease respond.....

Lytehouse
06/15/2007, 08:53 AM
camocustom: As you can see from my registration date I'm very new with my first tank-- but, I've been given the same info from half a dozen different sources. For smaller tanks the all in one additives work well to keep balance of trace and keep water stable. I have used Kent's 'Nano Reef parts A & B' since day one and have had zero problems with water and haven't had the trials of some I read about here. Have a buddy locally doing the same thing with same results. Started adding phyto when stocking became heavier. Now it's packed (yep I'm the next one on the list saying it's time for a bigger tank== Can't expect me to quit buying) I've had to play with a couple things because calcium is being depleted.

Good question, I'll be riding along...

PSam
06/15/2007, 09:16 AM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=10147116#post10147116 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by camocustom
gonna have softies only in my nano....iodine, strontium, nano calcium/alk a+b, and trace minerals, and some phytoplankton later on....what do you think??? PLease respond.....

I wouldn't dose Io or Sr unless testing for them - especially true with the Io. Dose a 2 part and Mg, that should suffice, imo. ESV's 2 part has some trace elements (and so does your salt mix) so it's not necessary to add anything. Regular water changes + 2 part + Mg - all set.