PDA

View Full Version : RO/DI+Baby=Hospital

dugg
06/14/2007, 08:18 AM
Just a word of caution for those of you with babies. I have been using my RO/DI water for mixing formula for the last 4 months thinking i was doing the baby a favor. It turned out not to be such a favor. Ian spent this last weekend in the hospital getting fluids through an IV. The doctor determined that his problem was low electrolyte levels due to using the RO/DI to mix his formula. It took 2 days of IV fluids, and another 3 days of pedialyte and Gatorade to get his electrolytes back up where they should be. They doctor told us from here on, to use tap water for atleast one bottle per day if not all of his bottles. He had been fine up until i changed out the DI resin last week and brought the TDS levels back from around 5 down to 0. About 4 days after changing the resin out, he started running a fever that just kept getting worse no matter what we did to bring it down. He is doing fine now, but it was a pretty rough weekend for him all over too clean of water.

aznlmpulse
06/14/2007, 08:28 AM
Sorry to hear about your baby dugg. It's a relief that he's doing better now.

There's an ongoing debate as to whether or not RO/DI is safe/good for you to drink. No one's (adults) really have had any immediate health issues with it, but I'd say that your experience says it all.

bottled water is usually RO though.

papagimp
06/14/2007, 08:51 AM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=10140262#post10140262 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by aznlmpulse
No one's (adults) really have had any immediate health issues with it, but I'd say that your experience says it all.

Adults don't rely on formula/water mixes, we drink lot's of other stuff. That really sucks dugg, but man is that a good piece of information to store in the brain for a later date.

dugg
06/14/2007, 09:20 AM