PDA

View Full Version : white ring around acan mouths

iflytoohigh
05/29/2007, 06:44 PM
" white ring around acan mouths "

i saw someone mention this in an earlier thread in relation to some sort of acan disease. is this true? i am new to acans and not familiar at all with them. i have an acan lord that i got and it is seemingly doing well. it is getting nice and fat fleshy heads, and polyps out at night. it eats mysis like a savage. however, there are chalky looking white rings around the mouths. it did not have these when i first got it, but it was no where near as fleshed out as it is now. so, do i worry about this chalky white ring around the mouths? i thought it was just part of the coloration.

any ideas, comments, suggestions?

Hypertek99
05/29/2007, 09:17 PM
Does it look like it's melting away or losing the bright colors??? I was the one that mentioned it in another thread. The number one symptom i had was that they stopped eating so if yours stopped eating then i would get worried. But my overcame the disease and it's growing back now. Lost a lot of color but it survived.

iflytoohigh
05/29/2007, 09:35 PM
on the contrary for mine. i didn't notice any white ring until it started getting fleshy. it eats great and polyps out at night like crazy. it's a colony of about 80+ heads of purple acan lord. well, i suppose if it stops eating i get concerned. i'll try and get a pic of it.

Hypertek99
05/29/2007, 10:59 PM
mine was a pastel purple and green one.

iflytoohigh
06/06/2007, 11:41 PM
finally got some pics. what do you guys think?

there is kind of a chalky looking white ring around the mouths. it was not there originally, but there now. does anyone else have any acans with this coloration?

http://www.subcultpop.com/nanoreef/3.jpg

http://www.subcultpop.com/nanoreef/4.jpg

Hypertek99
06/06/2007, 11:55 PM