PDA

View Full Version : black perc question

tee1172
04/15/2007, 01:16 PM
I bought 2 black percs about 5 or 6 months ago and about a month ago i lost one. Would I be creating a problem if I were to put in another black perc. At this point I am having a hard time finding one

Tortie
04/15/2007, 01:45 PM
First off, was the one you lost the larger of the two? I'm assuming they were paired if they were alright living together. When clowns are paired, the larger will turn into a female and the smaller will be the male. Your best bet, no matter whether it was the male or the female would be to add a smaller clown than the one you currently have. If you have the female then the new clown will take place of the other male. If it was the female, then your male will turn into a female and the other will take its place as a male. Of course, you'll have to watch the new addition very carefully and make sure both are getting along fine. Hope that helped. I'm very new to saltwater myself, but I've been doing a lot of reading up on clowns.

tee1172
04/15/2007, 01:51 PM
the one i lost was the smaller but i bought them from fosters and smith and i just ordered 2 it didn't say that they were a pair

Tortie
04/15/2007, 03:29 PM
I'd assume that you lost the male and as long as you order one that's smaller than your current, you should be fine. Again, watch the tank very cautiously to make sure the new addition is getting along with your other clown.

Slakker
04/15/2007, 03:44 PM
FWIW there is no "black percula," i'd assume you have black ocellaris.

Sorry to hear about your loss! As stated, getting a smaller one is the best (only) way to have a successful pairing in this case. Best of luck! :)

tee1172
04/15/2007, 08:07 PM
when I ordered from fosters and smith it says black percs

cape surf rules
04/15/2007, 08:34 PM
you need to get a smaller one than you currently have if you want them to pair.

Slakker
04/15/2007, 08:39 PM