PDA

View Full Version : Really disappointed with Cquarium...

BerlinMethod.com
04/11/2007, 09:56 AM
I've been keeping coral for about 7 years now, run a few websites related to reefkeeping and coral propagation, etc. Thought I would share my experience with Cquarium.

I placed an order recently for 4 corals at Cquarium, a bubble, a green clavularia, a yellow clavularia, and a lobophyllia. When they came, there were 2 problems. The lobophyllia was receding about 1/2" - 1" around the base. It clearly didn't appear to be shipping damage, but rather shipped that way.

Additionally 1 of the clavularia had other problems. It never really opened up and started disintegrated immediately. I could tell from the few polyps that were open initially that it wasn't yellow as pictured when I purchased it, but rather a duplicate green one. The coral I thought I purchased is actually still listed on the site. Regardless it is dying right now.

Here are the two pictures I sent to Adam. I asked for a refund for just the 2 pieces, since the clavularia are clearly gone (and was the wrong one) and its going to take 6 months to restore the receded lobophyllia.

He stated that the corals are clearly alive in my pictures and that it doesn't apply to his guarantee policy. I've ordered from Adam in the past and had success. Seems like perhaps things have changed over there which is really too bad.

Any ideas? Adam doesn't seem amenable to working something out. I did submit a dispute with Paypal but haven't done that before so don't know what the outcome will be with livestock.

Best,
Kris

http://reefcentral.com/gallery/data/500/3445DSCN3019.JPG

http://reefcentral.com/gallery/data/500/3445DSCN3016b.JPG

Thhitman
04/11/2007, 01:13 PM
From what I have read online, I wouldn't touch this business with a ten foot pole.

There was a thread a while back about him calling a coral "japanese" when it was not. He explained that the name was a "marketing tool" and vigorously defended doing so.