PDA

View Full Version : white Fungus + Ammonia Levels..HELP

Miguel06
03/13/2007, 07:58 AM
Hi Guys and Girls

Im new to the marine aquarium game,
I have just set up a marine tank with 2 dwarf lions and a snowflake eel. I have put severl peices of live rock and have the liquid bacterium which I am putting in every day. I did not cycle as the person in the aqaurium store said there is no need if u r putting in live rock and the bacterium, however the ammonia level is about 2.0ppm. I know this is extremely high and I am putting in water ager to try to remove the ammonia as well as adding copious amounts of the live bacteria to encourage growth and have also changes 1/3 of the water. The fish are still alive however i know that this is not a good thing for fish the fish. I also have a white algae like thing growing on portions of the live rock.

If you could guide me on what to do that would be great. Its not a huge tank and I thhought that if worse comes to worse that I should take all the water from the tank and start again.

HELP ME PLEASE!

hmello@bermexin
03/13/2007, 08:01 AM
How big is the tank? How long has it been set up? Continue water changes about 10% every other or every third day until parameters settle down.

Miguel06
03/13/2007, 08:08 AM
Hi

The tank as been set up for about 4 days, i know that you are meant to have the tank do the fishless ammonia cycle for about 2ish weeks but as the guy at the aquarium store said it would be ok, I took his judgment, the size of the tank is approx 13 gallons,
it is just to start up until I move to my own place where I will increase the tank size.
I just dont want the fish to die.
Is the white algae I should be worried about?

cartouche
03/13/2007, 08:17 AM
Miguel,

With all your good intentions you really couldn't have made a worse start. The cycle should take anything between 6-8 weeks and even then you have to take things real slow.