PDA

View Full Version : Got watts???

cirujano
03/07/2007, 03:10 AM
I have friend (electric handyman) coming this weekend to install another outlet to support my two tanks electricity output.
Lately, there are some threads rewarding fellow reefers electrical incidents.
People using one outlet to feed all the tank eqiptment. Too risky!
Any thoughs?

adova
03/07/2007, 10:14 AM
I think most people use one outlet because of limitations (apartment or too hard to add). When I had the electrian wire the basement for finishing, I put in 3 - 20 amp circuits, and wish I did one more. The main reason is that if for some reason one gets tripped, the rest will continue to function.

roguemonk
03/07/2007, 12:34 PM
I am only an amateur electrician with no fires or other major disasters to my credit, but:

The thing to bear in mind is that each outlet in your circuit can handle all the current the circuit can handle. It is the things you plug into it (especially extension cords and power strips) that may end up overloaded if you plug too many things into them. The extra outlet on the same circuit doesn't add any capacity to the circuit except an extra location to plug in to.

Hopefully a real electrician can confirm that and give it more legitimacy (and if I'm wrong I really want to be corrected!).

I have two 60-amp subpanels in my basement, one dedicated to my doubtless overly ambitious integrated and automated system of three show tanks, one QT that can run in isolation or integrated, and a system of refugia and remote DSB. I will run my main pumps and lights off of one circuit, and backup pumps at a minimum off a second circuit.

The other panel will feed four 15-amp circuits for the rest of a half-basement. I can use some of that capacity for aquaria also.

Brad

adova
03/07/2007, 12:42 PM
You are correct about the capacity issue - I was assuming that he was talking about another circuit.