PDA

View Full Version : Lighting Question

garretsoccer2
02/20/2007, 01:51 AM
Hello all,
So I just bought a 29 gallon tank, stand and canopy from Charlie (thanks!) and it came with 2x65 watt power compact lights. I have another pc ballast that I thought I would hook up for a total of 4x65 watts (260 all together). Would this be sufficient light to house a clam in the tank? I have a 110 with plenty of room if this doesn't work out, but I would love to give it a shot. Any suggestions? If this will work, what temp combos should I do? 2x10,000K and 2xActinic is what I was thinking. Anyway I appreciate the help :)

Cheers,
-Garret

roguemonk
02/20/2007, 02:33 AM
I'm no expert, but I thought an expert might like to know:

How deep is the tank, and what spectrum of light do you plan to use?

And what kind of clam?

My guess is the light would be sufficient for the most common answers (although I think actinic is less useful for supporting photosynthesis), but as I said, I'm no expert.

Brad "I think my PAR bit me! Is that possible?"

garretsoccer2
02/20/2007, 02:46 AM
Tank is 18" deep and 30" long (standard 29), as for spectrum I don't know what I'm looking for yet, that's one thing I'm looking to have answered.

As for a clam as well, I'm not sure, just looking for advice at this point :)

fishfanatic06
02/20/2007, 09:01 AM
Melev on reefcentral put 3x65 watt powercompacts over a 29 gallon and he successfully raised clams. His was on the sandbed.

garretsoccer2
02/20/2007, 11:01 AM
Awesome, sounds good. What spectrum should I run with the 4 bulbs though?

Clown-N-Around
02/20/2007, 11:33 AM
Check out www.clamsdirect.com for some expert opinions.

My personal non-expert opinion:
Can you do it? Yes. Would I do it? No. I don't feel comfortable putting clams under less than MH in my own tank because I don't feel they thrive, at least with Maxima or Crocea. You could go with Derasa or Squamosa which are less dependent on light.

fishfanatic06
02/20/2007, 05:40 PM