PDA

View Full Version : Magnets

kelley_mc
02/01/2007, 08:46 AM
Has anyone used these magnets?

http://www.gaussboys.com/ndfeb-magnets/D1203E-N42.html

Prices are low and there are no minimum orders. I was thinking about supergluing my small plastic bracket from my mj mod to this.

I assume this is too strong?
http://www.gaussboys.com/ndfeb-magnets/B2506E-N42.html

trstange
02/01/2007, 09:28 AM
I'd go with the bigger one just to be safe. But I'm an over builder...

REEF-DADDY
02/01/2007, 09:40 AM
I am using a similar magnet to mount my pumps. How thick is your glass?

kelley_mc
02/01/2007, 09:55 AM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=9131263#post9131263 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by trstange
I'd go with the bigger one just to be safe. But I'm an over builder...

My concern with the big magnet is: 1) glass breakage as they pull themselves together. I have heard of this happening, and 2) interference with the magnets and the MJ itself. I am not sure if this is possible, I am just guessing on this one.

<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=9131349#post9131349 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by REEF-DADDY
I am using a similar magnet to mount my pumps. How thick is your glass?

Hmm... good question. The tank I will be using it on is a 37 gal aga. I just checked their website and it doesn't show how thick the glass is. I would guess more than a 1/4 and less than a 1/2. I know its thinner than yours. :D

Which magnet are you using? The little round one or the larger rectangle?

erickrm
02/01/2007, 10:42 AM
oh man i was hoping for something like this! now i can hook up my maxies to these :) hopefully they are in fact reef safe?? i will order a bunch! just to have extras lol...

REEF-DADDY
02/01/2007, 10:52 AM
many are using them, as long as they are epoxy coated they should be fine

kelley_mc
02/01/2007, 11:07 AM