PDA

View Full Version : bubble algae, how to get rid of it

sea-horsea
11/28/2000, 10:48 PM
My tank are doing fine but I have bubble algae problems which bothers me...I can't never get rid of it with my hands....the big one is easy to get rid of but the small ones b/t rocks and holes...impossible to get my fingers in...what should I do?? anything out there will control it??? Its a 30 gal. reef tank..help needed

susie
11/28/2000, 11:35 PM
Try one or two emerald crabs, they did a great job riddiing my tank of it. Good Luck!

carolina98
11/29/2000, 06:19 AM
I tried 2 emerald crabs in our 46 gallon... no luck. From what I understand, if the bubbles are too big the crabs won't eat it. I've heard that the foxface rabbit fish will eat it, but I have no personal experience with this fish.

I'm sure you know... but just in case, be sure not to bust the bubbles as you're removing them or the spores will just make a kagillion more bubbles!

Good luck!

[Edited by carolina98 on 11-29-2000 at 05:27 AM]

Playfair
11/29/2000, 08:16 AM
The easiest and most effective method I have found to remove valonia is the burst and suck...

Turn off your pumps (so the spores don't blow around) and start a siphon using 1/4" semi-ridged plastic tubing (like that found on icemaker water lines) to "burst your bubble" and then siphon it's contents out of the tank. Use a finger over the siphon outlet to shut off flow when necessary.

The sausage type bubbles require "scraping" with the tubing while sucking, and is as effective. A great time to do this is while performing a water change, as you would be siphoning out water anyway.

ps- also works great on cyano, just twirl little circles over your sand until the junk forms little "tornados", then siphon out.

petpoor
11/29/2000, 08:02 PM
The Foxface I have loves the stuff between him and my Purple Tang they keep it in check.It is never completely eliminated but it no longer gets out of hand.A 30 gallon might be a little small for a Foxface though.