PDA

View Full Version : I love my dsb, but like my back more...

Fishotch
07/22/2002, 01:38 PM
Well... I always suspected it wouldn't work out. My tank has been set up for about 6 months. 29 gallon mini reef with a 4 inch dsb and about 25 lbs of LR. two percula clowns are the only fish inhabitants. I'm a colledge student, and I need to move the tank about 4 times a year for the next 2 years (back and forth between OH and PA at the begining and end of each semester) I've already moved it once without losing anything, but to do that I had to leave the sand bed in the tank with some water and a battery pump, and while that was very successful, and I have no detectable nutrients in my water despite low quality skimming from my prizim, I think the sand needs to go, as moving it is very very difficult. Do you think that the lr will be able to support the bio load of the tank? should I remove the sand bit by bit, or all at once? I'll probably get some extra rock for the tank to help... should I add that before moving the sand (to help ease the extra bio load of some possibly not totaly cured rock comming in and then have the rock ease the load of the sand going out?) really, what advice do you have?

since that was too long, I'll summarize... How should I remove my sand bed, and what concequences should I expect?

also, Is anyone interested in about 60-80 lbs of southdown that I seeded from 4 different sources of live sand and my lr. full or worms etc. i'll ship if you'll cover the shipping and send a frag or two my way. or locally i'll be glad to trade. I'll split it up etc etc, as i'm going to have to throw it out at the end of august if I don't find anyone who wants it.

thanks for your time and advice.
Nick

yrureefing
07/22/2002, 02:15 PM
If I were you I would get a smaller tank. It must be a pita to move it. If you get rid of the sand then you could add some more lr.

Fishotch
07/22/2002, 02:27 PM