PDA

View Full Version : Help !!!!!! Aiptasia!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

oxkisses12ox
01/04/2007, 01:08 AM
well.............. as a beginner i was dumb and the pet store failed to mention that aiptasia was a pest in the reef tank and sold me rock with one or two on it...... i noticed like 10 of them sprouting ... come to find it is VERY BAD

i threw the rock away with them on it... but i still have 7 of them (1 large 6 small) and the other day caught one in the sand bed!

i have one plate coral and one blue legged hermet crab... some brittle stars.. (baby)... i LOVE my plate coral (long tentacle) and it is just beautiful... i dont want the aiptasia to sting it and also i cant find anything to eliminate it ( example:peppermint shrimp) because they will also work on my plate coral... ugh!

i was going to do the lemmon injection method, but where i live you cannot get access to needles w.o perscription!!! ANY ADVICE IM DESPERATE i dont want my whole tank to be covered.........!

oxkisses12ox
01/04/2007, 01:09 AM
oh, and if Aiptasia can survive in my tank does that mean it is safe for me to get a real anemone?? like for a clown??

SuperNerd
01/04/2007, 01:16 AM
Aiptasia are one of the few anemones in the hobby that can thrive in subpar conditions. Use kalk paste to smother the aiptasia when your powerheads/water movement is off.

Many people would advise against getting an anemone until the tank is mature. Some say 6 months is the min. but even if your tank is 6 months it does not necessarily mean that your water levels are not fluctuating. I would wait until after you are able to grow some SPS but even that may be pushing it after only 2 months. :)

SuperNerd
01/04/2007, 01:19 AM
Also, clowns don't need anemones. They'll host in just about anything that looks like one though. A popular alternative is the toadstool. It's a hardier type of coral that may help you get used to taking care of corals. :)