PDA

View Full Version : help me cure my hair algae

B33FST3W
12/26/2006, 05:36 PM
Ok, I have been fighting hair algae for a couple of months now and I'm running out of ideas. I have already removed all the rockwork and scrubbed it, done tons of water changes and run phosphate removing media.

I have less then 10ppm of nitrate and phosphates show 0ppm. I only feed once a day and I dont think I overfeed. I have added chaeto to my fuge and run the light one it for 12 hours a day.

The only thing I can think of is that I dont have enough snails and crabs to clean up as most of them died since I got them (they lasted about a year).

So since I am adding in more snails and crabs, can anyone recomend so good ones for hair algae? Also, can anyone recommend anything else I need to do to eliminate this problem.

Thanks,
Stew

Gooli
12/26/2006, 05:45 PM
let's get some basics out of the way first....i think we should fine the CAUSE to the problem first.

1. Are you using Tap water? If not...what water are you using?

2. How long is the tank been up and running? i assume it's the 37g.

3. Are you running a skimmer? which one?

4. Are you using any additives at all?

B33FST3W
12/26/2006, 06:29 PM
1. It started when I added a sump to my system and filled it with tap water (I ran carbon in the tap water for 24 hours before I added it to the system thinking it would get all the bad stuff out). Since then I only use RO/DI water that I get at the LFS.

2. Its been up for a little longer than a year.

3. I have an octopuss NW150

4. I use seachem calcium, alk, and kalk. For salt I use IO, and I add kent's zoecon to the frozen food once a week.

chem-e
12/26/2006, 06:45 PM