Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > More Forums > Reef Club Forums > MidWest Region-Reef Club Forums > Central Ohio Reef Aquarists (CORA)
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12/11/2007, 12:11 AM
Moved On

Reefkeeper vs aquacontroller

wanted to know if anyone is using a reefkeeper? It seems much cheaper and as good as an aquacontroller. wanted to know opinions?
Old 12/11/2007, 12:40 AM
Registered Member

I have a reefkeeper 2 and absolutely love it. I've never used an aquacontroller before, but based on comparing the rk2 and the ac jr (which are both roughly in the same price range), it seemed like the rk2 had better features. Just my opinion.

The only thing I wish I could do is control my koralias with it, but that's an issue with my koralias, and not the rk itself.

To be honest, either one would meet your basic needs in my opinion.
Old 12/11/2007, 12:55 AM
Moved On

thanks! you can do much more on the rk2 though vs the aquacontroller jr. to be able to have all those features with the aquacontroller you seem to have to go up a notch. which is much more expensive
Old 12/11/2007, 02:42 AM
T5 Reefer

Looks like there is nothing you can do with an RK2 that an ACjr won't do and there are several items that the ACjr will do but the RK2 can't.
They also show the equally equipped units at about $50 more for the RK2 than the ACjr.

The things I saw that aren't available on the RK2 off hand are:
*Programmable through a PC instead of using the up down buttons on the display.
*Using float switches for controlling levels.
*Audible and Visual alarms.
*12 outlets possible vs. 8 max on the RK2.
*Possible to set random timers.