Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12/19/2007, 04:29 PM
Registered Member

PLEASE HELP!!! Sump and return issues

Hey I am new to the whole sump process. I got this tank that has a sump and a U-tube that gets the water flowing into it from the tank. Then the return sends it back. The U-tube has a valve on it for adjusting the waterflow as does the return (even though its too far behind the tank to easily get to it).

So right now I have a weak pump on the return. its a rio 1700 and at best its running 200gph right now and I am planning to get another one but havent yet. The U-tube is 1" PVC and travels straight down so it gets pretty good water flow.

The problem is this. Since the U-tube flows via suction, and I dont have a turn-off switch on the return section of the sump I am having troubles stabalizing the movement of water through the sump.

Basically I have been adjusting the U-tube flow valve to try and get it stabalized and it never gets just right. The water is either draining out of the sump too fast or going into it too fast and it never evens out.

How can I get this so that there isnt any risk of flooding the sump or draining the return section of the sump to the point where my pump runs dry and burns out on me?

PLEASE HELP!!!

I can post pictures if it helps anyone understand whats going on better.
Old 12/19/2007, 04:48 PM
Registered Member

You will have to play with the overflow box by raising it or lowering it until you get the right water level inside it.