Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > Special Interest Group (SIG) Forums > Nano Reefs
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08/25/2007, 07:58 PM
Registered Member

Rimless - Zen/Bonsai 5-Gallon Setup?

Hello everyone! I believe this is my first post of RC!

I am considering using a 5-Gallon Rimless glass tank as a Nano Reef. While I have never done SW, I have been doing FW for 18+ years - high-tech planted tanks (Pressurized CO2, T5HO high light, fert dosing and large weekly water changes using reconstituted RO/DI).

I am looking for thoughts and feedback on equipment that would allow me to run a small 5-gallon tank with very little to no equipment hanging in or on the tank.

Here is the tank:

about 14x8x10 in dimension

This is the light I think I will use:

http://www.marinedepot.com/ps_ViewIt...011~tab~2.html

I would like to find a way to suspend the light above the tank - wondering if anyone out there has done this successfully - I think you would have to drill holes in the top and build a mounting rig. If I did decide to use the legs, do they flare out to 14-inches (the width of the tank)? Is this enough light? It seems like the most light I can get for the size, barring a MH pendant, which would be too much (right?)...

I have an extra Aquaclear 20 laying around, but I may consider using an Eheim Ecco canister and custom intake/outtake hardware. I see many of you don't use protein skimmers on smaller tanks, and since weekly water changes are no big hassle to me. I am not planning on a protein skimmer on this tank - as weekly water changes are not a problem.

Am I forgetting anything?