Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05/13/2007, 02:07 PM
Registered Member

Need a Skimmer

I am new to this awesome forum and swf. I have a 90g with an undercabinet sump where I want to install a hang-on skimmer. The problem is I tried the Current Fission Skimmer that was 20" tall and it would not fit under the cabinet. I need a skimmer that will work for a 90g tank, but will fit under the cabinet. Please help me--I am so confused

Thank you!!
Claire
Old 05/13/2007, 02:42 PM
Moved On

well, i have pretty much the same setup, i use a coralife super skimmer65. It is short enough to fit in the under cabinet. It is a little underated but still works.
Old 05/13/2007, 02:56 PM
Registered Member

So you want a hang on skimmer but to hang it on the sump, under the cabinet. Maybe you could go with a hang on back skimmer and hang it on the tank? How much clearance do you have under cabinet. Bermuda aquatics Rough is a HOB. Very impressed with my Bermuda 3C. Rouge is only an inch shorter at 19". But again, could be hung on back of tank.
Tunze HOB skimmers are supposed to be good too. Surprisingly, not as expensive as the Tunze name conjours up but I don't know how large they are.

http://www.bermudaaquatics.com/rogue.htm
Old 05/13/2007, 03:01 PM
Registered Member

Thanks for the comments. Anyone have experience with the SeaClone Protein Skimmer--specs say its 18"?
Old 05/13/2007, 03:11 PM
Registered Member

I have zero experience with the Seaclone but it is generally held in very poor regard.