Reef Central Online Community
Marine Depot

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > Special Interest Group (SIG) Forums > Photography

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01/04/2008, 02:58 PM
ibanezgfx ibanezgfx is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 19
anybody use the canon s5is?

just got one for christmas and for the most part, i like it. kinda difficult for aquarium work though. just wandering if anyone else has experience with it.

thanks
  #2  
Old 01/04/2008, 03:16 PM
boudster boudster is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 96
I've seen some people using it who have posted some really great tank pics, so I just picked one up as well. I'd love some tips on optimizing its use for aquarium photography.
__________________
-Jim
  #3  
Old 01/04/2008, 03:27 PM
ibanezgfx ibanezgfx is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 19
wow... i didnt see the post 3 down from mine.

DOH!
  #4  
Old 01/04/2008, 03:47 PM
boudster boudster is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 96
well, I got the name of the camera wrong on that post, so it's understandable
__________________
-Jim
  #5  
Old 01/04/2008, 11:38 PM
Cheebs Cheebs is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 79
I jsut picked this one up at christmas too. I don't have a tripod yet but I've been playing with it. I'm wondering if anyone here has a bucnh of experience with it that could drop some tips about the settings and stuff. It sure has alot of bells and whistles, the trick is figuring out how to use them. I'll post some pics asap.
  #6  
Old 01/06/2008, 06:37 PM
ibanezgfx ibanezgfx is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 19
im still workin on it, with the flash its ok, but i am havin a little trouble getting close and using the macro mode. and it focuses on the glass in supermacro mode instead of the fishies.
  #7  
Old 01/07/2008, 05:18 PM
Aussie_hippie_2 Aussie_hippie_2 is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: lost in South WI
Posts: 98
Got mine an hour ago. A lot of stuff with this thing! Talk about a step up from a 3MP point and shoot lol

Where's the super macro?
  #8  
Old 01/07/2008, 06:31 PM
boudster boudster is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 96
I'm having trouble getting good focus when zoomed in macro mode using manual focus.....anybody have any tips?
__________________
-Jim
  #9  
Old 01/07/2008, 07:37 PM
TOYTEK TOYTEK is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: McCalla(Birmingham), AL
Posts: 177
Send a message via AIM to TOYTEK
The wife and I got one for Christmas too. Still learning, definitely better than the Kodak P&S POS we had.
I think(not at home to make sure) Super Macro is press and hold the macro button for a few sec.
__________________
--Danny
  #10  
Old 01/08/2008, 09:40 PM
Aussie_hippie_2 Aussie_hippie_2 is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: lost in South WI
Posts: 98
Here's a sample on Super Macro, on Automatic. Not too bad for my first night's worth of Macro. Not to mention on Automatic.
  #11  
Old 01/08/2008, 09:58 PM
boudster boudster is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally posted by Aussie_hippie_2
Here's a sample on Super Macro, on Automatic. Not too bad for my first night's worth of Macro. Not to mention on Automatic.
How did you get it to focus?....you can't use manual focus on Automatic....at least I haven't been able to figure out how...
__________________
-Jim
  #12  
Old 01/08/2008, 11:43 PM
Aussie_hippie_2 Aussie_hippie_2 is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: lost in South WI
Posts: 98
Sorry, I meant I went Aperture priority, and kept it at 2.7. I still didn't fool around with it at all. My mistake. Realized that today when I was taking more pictures
  #13  
Old 01/11/2008, 11:44 AM
ibanezgfx ibanezgfx is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 19
im startin to get the hang of it a bit better. using the manual focus on Super Macro helps a lot.
flash is still kinda annoying.
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef Central Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2009