Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > The Lounge

Old 01/11/2008, 06:15 PM
Registered Member

college thesis - help appreciated

Hi fellow reefers.

I am currently studying criminology at A level (mature (ish) student) and we have been asked to come up with a plan for an extended project which can be about anything that is connected to criminal activity and deviant behaviour. I have spent ages tossing ideas around, and tonight, after following a link on here. I found my topic.

It would appear that there is a rather grey area surrounding divers that die for the sake of catching rare fish, often forced into the job by poverty and refused wages if they do not complete these dangerous and frequent dives. (see here: http://archive.reefcentral.com/forum...1#post11575001)

I thought I could use this as a subject matter as for me that post has been an eye opener in relation to how little value is put on a human life, just so the rich can get richer. I also wanted to talk about the ecological effect of fish, corals and anemones (amongst other things) being taken from the ocean to further someones bank balance.

If you feel you have anything that could help me begin my research I would appreciate it if you could either reply to this message, or send me a PM if you prefer.

I will be posting this across the boards, to get a full spectrum of replies and I hope this does not annoy management or members alike. I think this is an extremely important subject to study and that when my thesis is complete I will be able to post it here with my findings for all to read.