Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > Responsible Reefkeeping
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01/12/2005, 10:23 AM
Registered Member

Fundamental misgivings about the hobby?

Do any of you feel that the entire hobby suffers from a lack of ethics?

As a newbie, I'm very surprised how little captive breeding is happening and how common it is for people to acquire advanced species and kill them in short order. I know that it really comes down to the ethics of the individual hobbiest - and that is really kind of the fundamental problem. I think a lot of decent people are behaving unethically, not because they're bad people, but because they aren't thinking through things. The "Finding Nemo" craze is particularly disheartening.

Like probably most beginners, keeping anemones was one of my early goals, but I've pretty much decided against them, as I just don't have the heart to take on caring for an animal that could probably outlive me, or even my kids or grandkids, but probably won't live that long in captivity.

In fact, I may limit my tank population solely to animals that will propogate in captivity.
Old 01/12/2005, 11:13 AM
m0derated

As long as I don't contribute to any aspect of the hobby that has an effect on the natural environment, I'm happy.

I have a hard time getting upset if I kill a common coral. It's sad that I just killed an individual animal, but then I go to the restaurant and order shrimp scampi. It's all a matter of perspective, I guess.
Old 01/12/2005, 11:42 AM
LIGHTS ARE ON!!!!