Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > Coral Forums > Coral Propagation and Aquaculture

Old 10/05/2006, 10:31 PM
I hate line 42!!!!!!!

Best way to frag these colonies?

Hello everyone. I am new to fragging zoas so I have a few questions. I have 3 different colonies that I am fragging/trying to frag. I have been able to break some off but am unsure about removing some from a different rock and some that have overgrown their frag plug. From what I gathered before its not good to cut the polyp its better to try and dig if off correct? What is the easiest way to get them off. Below are some shots of the colonies if that would help with some advice on what to do. I am unsure about breaking some of the rocks due to the fact of ripping tissue. Any help?? TIA

This is the colony overgrowing the plug

This colony I was able to remove some that were growing on a sponge type thing

This is a colony growing on a finger of rock
Old 10/05/2006, 11:04 PM
Registered Member

what I do to frag mine is:

tools:

Gloves
protective glasses
clean utility razor blade
little plastic container filled with crusged coral or rubble
(or supergule gel and a plug or rock if you are brave enough)

Beware of the fact that zoas cary polytoxin ( very deadly) so dont cut yourself with that blade and toss it after you are done. Wear gloves. Latex surgical will do, make sure they are medical grade.

the process: