Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09/08/2007, 01:14 AM
Premium Member

Polyurethane in a spray can question..........

Anyone have any experiences or opinions with polyurethane sold in spray cans? Can you get a good finish using these products? Since I have a lot of past experience working with airbrush painting and spray painting model cars I thought I might be able to get a better finish with the cans then brushing it on my DIY stand project.

Elos 70 (30"x22.5"x20)

Semi-Cube (36"36"x24" old setup)

DIY Stand Build Thread
http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1207997

Last edited by nanoguy; 09/08/2007 at 01:23 AM.
Old 09/08/2007, 02:56 PM
Registered Member

i just bought some, i'll let you know here in a little bit after i try it.
Old 09/08/2007, 03:43 PM
Registered Member

I have used it on some woodworking products and i wasnot impressed. Cant beat a brushed on polyurethane look. Used 2 cans of the spray stuff on a ladder shelf i built and it was still not enough to give it a gloss to it. Cheaper to buy the can for $9 0r $10 and get a good finish as apposed to spending the $5-$6 for a can.
Old 09/08/2007, 06:22 PM
Registered Member

You may also look at the wipe-on poly, it works pretty well. A little thicker finish then spray can and no brush marks. It comes in the various glosses and Norm (New Yankee workshop) uses it often. I've used it a bunch also but I'm a no body.
Another option is to find a freind with an HVLP sprayer.
Old 09/09/2007, 03:03 PM
Registered Member