Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12/30/2007, 03:20 PM
Premium Member

Arrow RO questions

I just got an AquaFX Barracuda 4-stage 50 gpd RO/DI unit. I have never had an RO or DI unit or any kind. I have been buying my RO water from the grocery store. So, I'm a newbie here trying to gather as much info about this piece of equipment as possible. I've been reading lots on RC and searching all over, but still have a few questions.

My unit is 50 gpd. Can I put a 75 gpd RO membrane in it when I replace it, and then it is suddenly a 75 gpd unit? Or is there more to that than just the membrane?

I have read that RO membrane that are over 75 gpd are less effective. Is that true?

I have a psi meter right on the unit. It reads 45 psi when I turn my tap on full blast (just cold). When that drops I should replace my sediment filter, right? How much can it drop before I should replace it?

My understanding is that the carbon block is usually changed at the same time as the sediment filter. I understand that the purpose of the carbon block is to remove chlorine as chlorine will damage the RO membrane. Is that right? So in order to know when it is time to replace the carbon block, I assume it may be wise to purchase a chlorine test kit and test the water coming out of the carbon block. Good idea?

How often and for how long do I use my flush kit? I haven't found a definitive answer for this.