Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > Advanced Topics
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07/04/2007, 02:42 AM
Chillin'

Nitrate in the aquarium

Just wanting to discuss the different ways of removing nitrate from the aquarium. As far as I know there are only 3 ways of removing nitrate.

1. Denitrification (including liverock, DSB, and other bacteria cultivating substrates).

2. Algae cultivation and removal

3. Sulfa reactor

I have also heard of nitrate removal media however I have no personal experience with this and really have not heard anything about it. If you have some solid info on it please share.

As far as I am concerned Denitrification is the most inefficient way of removing nitrate from the aquarium. Denitrifying bacteria located within liverock and in sand beds are not as effective as their nitrifying cousins and there for leaves excess nitrate inside liverock and in sandbeds. This is why IMO people tend to have issues with tank crashes and algae blooms several years after being set up. The rock and sand are no longer able to absorb the unused nitrate that is not used for denitrification. As the bacteria use nitrate this creates something similar to reverse osmosis where water is drawn into the rock slowly. This is however just my opinion but it does help to explain why tanks eventually crash. This would also explain why bioballs and similar equipment are called nitrate factories. The plastic balls cannot hold nitrate that is not used therefor the remaining is left in the water column.