Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > Responsible Reefkeeping
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03/26/2006, 04:55 PM
Registered Member

Is our hobby driving the horror?

I'm a noob here at RC, but a long time marine fish keeper. I've been lurking here for the past few days and I've noticed many threads and replies about the poor conditions at LFS's, the plight of the reefs, and general angst over the care of fish.

Once again, is our hobby driving the horror? Are we contributing to wild reefs being fragged out? Are contributing to all of the local horrors at LFS's?

From a purely analytical standpoint, a market cannot survive without a demand. That as a given, with no demand for corals, fishes, etc, there would be no livestock sold at LFS's, and hence no more horrors.

I submit that we, ourselves as hobbyists, are a major part of the problem.....................

Food for thought...........................

That said, I love this hobby. I am a very reponsible keeper and I go to great lengths to ensure the care and well being of the citizens in my tank. If we are to continue this hobby, we have to accept the good with the bad. I only patronize LFS's that take care of their stock. I can't cry over bad conditions at another LFS, the plight of the reefs, etc.

If I did, I would feel morally bound to quit this hobby.

Something to mull over in quiet moments....
Old 03/26/2006, 05:17 PM
Registered Member

Hmmm....................

Eight looks and no takers? Nobody wants to broach this subject?
Old 03/26/2006, 05:58 PM
J. SUPERSONIC