Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > Responsible Reefkeeping
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02/29/2004, 01:50 PM
Registered Member

Help Petco

Hi everyone, my name is Matt im 18 and i've been doing marine aquaria for about 3 yrs. Im gona need everyones help on this one. I recently went into my local Petco and was shocked. I know I shouldn't be, because of their reputation, however it was really bad. 95 percent of the fish were coverted in protozoan diseses, and the other 5 percent with every other diseses you could think of. Now what im actually trying to do is get a job there. They need some serious help which I feel I can provide. Also, the reason im posting this is because i also realize i dont know everything, and I wish to seek any additional help i can get. So to everyone out there, feel free to comment and provide useful information.

Matt
Old 02/29/2004, 02:07 PM
Registered Member

Heres a couple of other things i saw while i was in there. 1) They had about 15 tomato clowns and 15 clarkii clowns together in the same 10 gallon tank, and of course every single one had ripped fins. 2) This is a fairly new petco, maybe 4 months old and their already putting coral in two of there tanks. they had some ricordia and some different mushroom corals under their stupid,not enough light to read a book system. The reason this is really annoying is because the tanks are still cycling with algae. It doesnt make it any better when thet have dead fish lying everywhere, There tanks are a mess. Hopefully i can help some of those poor fish before they kill the whole ocean.

Matt