Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > Responsible Reefkeeping
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03/14/2005, 08:40 AM
Registered Member

Trying to start a Red Sea coral farming/conservation program...

This is brief cos internet cafes are expensive.....

Word. My name's Josh and I'm a Peace Corps Volunteer in Jordan, just finished on year and have my second year of service left to go. I live about an hour from Aqaba, Jordan's only city on the Red Sea. (Quick tourism plug, come dive here. The acros here are maddeningly blue....) I'm an English teacher in the public schools but before I leave I'd really like to get some sort of conservation/coral farming program. The saltwater aquarium trade is nonexistent here and so far I've not found anything that resembles what I'd like to do. I'm trying to get contacts here of course, but it doesn't hurt to throw the following questions out to the invisible thousands of this site......

1. Anyone have any experience setting up or working with coral farming of conservation programs? From scratch or from something established?

2. Anyone have any suggestions or contacts for such a project?

3. Anyone got any leads for the legal side of this? (ie. preservation laws....this one's for all you coral lawyers out there.)

4. Anyone ever visited Jordan? (I'm just curious on this one.)

This project is partly cos I live on a desert mountan and darn it all but how I miss my ten gallon, partly cos this could be a great opportunity for helping out our ailing reefs.....