Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > Reef Discussion

Old 06/09/2007, 10:08 PM
Registered Member

Jake's First Reef Tank

I've been researching reef tank setups for almost 8 months devouring thread after thread of info. I've always wanted to finally start up a tank but everything was always so expensive. I'm 17, I work a minimum wage job and I'm no good at saving money (constantly going out with friends doesn't help with that either).

After reading about the success people have had with modified Odyssea equipment (notably the skimmers and light fixtures) I decided that I would try out a DIY-reef on a budget.

It's garage sale season, so I finally picked up a tank on Thursday. It's a 29-gallon tank /w stand that I got for $20. I've decided to drill it and setup a small sump with the skimmer hanging on the side.

The tank will be in the basement (for cooling in the summer) with a sump in the sump closet behind it.

I ordered some of the main components (plumbing, a return pump, etc.) online the night I got it and went out to my LFS (for bulkheads), HD and walmart yesterday to get stuff to drill it.

So, here's the tank:

And here's what I picked up at Walmart for $25:

Along with a familiar drill bit:

Here's how it went down:

I did that for both the drain and return.
Old 06/09/2007, 10:10 PM
Registered Member

Now for the overflow...

6" PVC + A Jigsaw + Krylon Fusion =

Time for some silicone:

Sloppy but at least there are no leaks.