Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11/19/2007, 12:56 AM
Registered Member

my fish are dying!

my tank is new and i am also new to the hobby...i bought to false clownfish that lived for about a month. one died, and then about 1 week later another one died. This may sound like a dumb question, but what am i doing wrong? is there something i should check/test for problems?
Old 11/19/2007, 01:14 AM
Team RC Member

Yes.
First, when you get new fish, put them into a 10 gallon with tank water. You acclimate them by putting a squirt of tank water into their bag every 15 minutes until your refractometer [buy one!] shows that the salinity of the tank water is within .001 of that in the bag [ideal salinity: 1.025 on that instrument.
Second, extract fish with your hand and put him in the 10 g tank, start the filter in that tank, and keep him there for at least a week, feeding him daily and testing his water with test strips for ammonia and nitrate. If you get readings, change out his filter. And be sure his salinity stays on the mark 1.025.

Once the week is past and he's eating well, put him into your regular tank. You can do two clowns at once in the same little tank.

If, during his stay in the 10g, he breaks out in spots, he's got ich or brook and needs medication. Otherwise---into your display tank.

Your salinity in all parts of your system should be a constant 1.025---use an autotopoff system to keep it there, and use only ro/di water in your tank [you need your own filter for that].
Your alkalinity should be 8.3 to 9.3.