Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > Advanced Topics
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11/20/2007, 04:15 PM
Registered Member

Algae Disaster

I have been doing Salt Water for 15+ years and I have never seen a tank issue like I am experiencing.

My Salt Water tank - non reef has been set up for about 10 years (and moved 3 times). About 6 months ago it cracked and I had to replace the tank. This is where the issue started.

I kept about 70 percent of the water and the wet dry never stopped. Since this has happned, my nitrates are normal, but my nitrites are very high. I have Algae that is growing over everything. I recently flipped over the coral and in 4 days it is covered green. The algae on my glass is so thick that in 5 days, I can't see the fish.

I do water changes about once a month and have used the nitrite reducer but that has not worked at all and seemed to make it worse.

The fish are healthy and eating, and I have have a sea slug still alive. Recently I lost the algae eating slugs that during this time had tripled in size.

I am at a loss and look forward to any support you can yield
Old 11/20/2007, 04:48 PM
Registered Member

did you attempt to move any sand or gravel?
Old 11/21/2007, 02:36 AM
Registered Member

How much LS and LR is in there? What do you use for flow?
Old 11/21/2007, 03:19 AM
barnacle boy

sounds like its recycling. keep up with the water changes because high nitrates and probably even ammonia are present now and they are toxic. hope everything pulls trough. the algae will eventually go away.