Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > The Reef Chemistry Forum

Old 01/11/2008, 04:01 PM
Registered Member

Unhappy Ahh! I always hated Chem.

Hey everyone,

So I went outta town for a couple weeks and left my roommates in charge of my tank. I just came back and all my parameters are messed up! I'm new to this hobby and don't know what my best options would be, hopefully you guys can help me get this under control and give me some suggestions, h2o change? chems? new fluval media? etc

My parameters:
Spec. Grav. - 1.026
Ammonia - 0.25ppm
Nitrate - 50ppm
Nitrite - 0.2ppm
pH - 8.0
Alk - 3.0
Phosphate - 0.05ppm
Calcium - 550

My tank:
Its a 33 gallon, I do 7gl water changes bi-weekly. Feed once daily. Have a Fluval 205, CPR BakPak, Korali powerhead.

Please someone help me out I wanna get this all perfect. Thanks!
Old 01/11/2008, 04:04 PM
Registered Member

How old is your tank? Did your roommates add anything other than food? What inhabitants do you have?
Old 01/11/2008, 04:07 PM
Reef Chemist

Ahh! I always hated Chem.

That's OK. We won't hold it against you.

The ammonia is high. Have you had elevated ammonia before?

If the calcium is real, and not a testing error, let it drop on its own wile you only supplement alkalinity as needed using something like baking soda. Do you know how it got where it is? What salt mix do you use?

The nutrients are also worth dealing with, by increasing export somehow.

These may help:

The “How To” Guide to Reef Aquarium Chemistry for Beginners, Part 1: The Salt Water Itself
http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2007-03/rhf/index.php