Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05/30/2007, 06:33 PM
Registered Lunatic

Beckett

For some reason the Beckett skimmer I have just wont put out the bubble concentration it should be. Im new to Beckett type skimmers so any advice on how to make this thing put out the bubbles it should be would be appreciated. Heres acouple of pics. One is of the Beckett housing, the other is of the bubble concentration or lack of.... Mag 12 pump running externaly.

Last edited by JD52; 05/30/2007 at 06:48 PM.
Old 05/30/2007, 07:14 PM
Got frags?

Probably b/c your running a beckett with a mag12! Get a better pump for it... pressure rated is preffered... and then tell us how it runs!
Old 05/30/2007, 07:23 PM
Registered Lunatic

My buddies running a Mag9 and it works much better than mine. What pump would you recommend? I used an Eheim 900gph and no difference.
Old 05/30/2007, 07:23 PM
Registered Lunatic

My buddies running a Mag9 and it works much better than mine. What pump would you recommend? I used an Eheim 900gph and no difference.
Old 05/30/2007, 07:27 PM
Got frags?

Try an iwaki, or a blueline pump that pushes the same amount of water that the mag12 does. I guarantee you will see an improvement!!
Old 05/30/2007, 08:49 PM
Registered Member

Cool

yeah the mag 18 is way wrong for a beckett...I had a mag 18 hooked to my mr3 clone and it does nothin compared to a little giant that is actually 500 gph less than the mag.

swith to a little giant or blueline or iwaki and it will kick butt
Old 05/30/2007, 09:08 PM
Registered Member