Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > Marine Fish Forums > The Fish Breeding Forum

Old 06/20/2005, 11:40 AM
Hog Obsessed

Sucessfully reared OCC Clownfish without Rotifers

I have been breeding Ocellaris clownfish for several years now and am quite proficient at it. Lately a pair of clowns in my 180r tank started spawning, one is a wild caught and the other is one of my hatchlings.

From the beginning this pair's nests have been outstanding. Large in size and the best survival rate I have ever seen.
A few weeks ago when I pulled the tile out to hatch another full nest of 1000+ eggs I discovered my rotifers crashed.

Being out of rotifers I just fed BBS (baby brine shrimp) in the morning and evening. And to my surprise at least 50-70% of the nest has survived. They are now well past metamorphasis and I'd guess there are about 200-400 clowns.
Usually I can get about 600-800+ clowns to survive from this pair yet I am still happy with the result.

Now I am waiting for a pair of stubbies that I culled to start spawning. They are about 1.5 yrs old and should lay anytime now.
Old 06/20/2005, 02:23 PM
Premium Member

Well,this is awesome,a Guinness record case.Nobody could ever do it.Imagine how easy would life had been for commercial breeders if they could start clown larvae on bbs and get rid of phyto and rots!

And yet,clowns hatch so large,about the size of a guppy fry,that I always wondered why they didn´t take bbs which they do at 5 days,may be 4.

You must have found an exceptional strain...
Old 06/20/2005, 11:26 PM
Registered Member