Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > Invert and Plant Forums > Cephalopods

Old 05/14/2007, 09:58 AM
Registered Member

My Mimic

Heres a shot of my new Mimic that I have recently acquired. I set up a Octo tank and was not planning on getting a mimic because of what I have read here but my LFS got one in so what the heck. I have a lot of experience and have reef tanks (1340 gallons), and predator tank (75 gallon Rhinopias) and wanted an octopus so I set one up. He is eating well, live crabs and frozen shrimp right out of your hand. Any advice would be appreciated but I will not respond to people bashing me for having him and those posts will go unanswered. Lets be constructive.
Old 05/14/2007, 10:08 AM
Registered Member

constructively I think you should return him to make a stand against rare animals being collected in the wild. Thats just me though.
Old 05/14/2007, 12:49 PM
PKSN

Jim, that looks like a wunderpus rather than a mimic. I suggest you become a member of www.TONMO.com to read and participate in the information/threads on rare and exotic species.

I don't think boycotting animals has ever had any real world effect in regards to their collection - the industry just doesn't work that way. I think education regarding impulse buys is helpful, as well as education regarding the realities of the animals in the wild.
Old 05/14/2007, 03:01 PM
Premium Member

Try looking at http://ist-socrates.berkeley.edu/~ch...underMimic.htm

I can't tell from the margins of the arms which species it is, although the banding pattern seems more like a true mimic.