Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > Reef Discussion
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03/06/2005, 03:19 AM
Registered Member

cyanobacteria

hi everyone,
Im new to this online community but i have a 55 gallon all glass aquarium. I Have fish and live rock and a couple of corals also i have this cyanobacteria everywhere in the tank. Does anybody know what there is that will work to get ride of the cyanobacteria.
Old 03/06/2005, 03:23 AM
Premium Member

Hey. Welcome to RC. Are you using tap water in the tank?
Old 03/06/2005, 05:15 AM
Registered Member

Yes, he is.
Old 03/06/2005, 06:04 AM
Registered Member

This is my cousin's tank..

The reasons for his cyanobacteria are threefold:
1. He uses tap water. I've already suggested he start using distilled water.
2. He had a crack in his sump, with bioballs. There was no way to remove the broken sump from the stand, so he purchased, against my advice, another sump with bioballs. After many frustrating hours of trying to get his overflow to function, we finally decided to can the wet/dry setup completely. He had just recently purchased a HOB skimmer. Unfortunately, the thing is junk. My suggestion was to slowly add the live rock from the sump to the display. I also suggested he increase the depth of the sand bed using an oolitic aragonite- currently he has 1.5 inches of a thinly crushed coral- very fine for coral substrate, yet way too large of particles for a dsb.