Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05/13/2005, 09:02 AM
Registered Member

Planning a Tank from Afghanistan

Ok, I'm new to RC and the hobby. I've been deployed to Afghanistan with the national guard for a year and am getting ready to come home. The good tax-free money over here has enabled my wife and I to start the tank I've wanted for years. The problem is that researching equipment from here is kinda hard.

From reading the forums i've pretty much figured out what we need to start ordering. The plan is to start the tank cylcle when i get home (around 1 July).

We are planning our 75 gallon (drilled) tank around inverts, we like shrimp, crabs, and anenomies. w/ live rock and live sand

*We are planning to get the tank from all glass aquariums.com any thoughts on this.

*in sump euroreef skimmer large enough for a 135 gal tank (for later upgrades) (found on e-bay for $75, can i trust it)

*havn't decided on what kind of lights yet. thougths?

*I know i need a heater, return pump, thermoniter, test kits, salt, reverse osmosis system will come later, and probably an electronic tester.

any advice on any of this and best places to buy would be greatly appreciated.

Thankx
Old 05/13/2005, 09:43 AM
Timmah!

Welcome to ReefCentral, and thanks for your service to our country. Stay safe and come home in one piece!

Quote:
*We are planning to get the tank from all glass aquariums.com any thoughts on this.
I'm not familiar with ordering directly from them, but are there not any local aquarium shops that you can deal more directly with?

Quote: