Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12/16/2007, 07:31 PM
Registered Member

I am a beginner, please check out my plans

After seeing many beautful SW settups, I have decided to experiment w/my empty 6 Gallon QT tank(Not needed, my FW tanks are established)

Here are some plans and basic info about the tank:
Dimensions: 16 inches long, 10.5 inches tall, and 8 inches wide
Lighting: Only 1 WPG, not upgrading lighting because I may upgrade tank
Filtration: AC 20, and natural filtration, don't want a protein skimmer because I may upgrade
Stock:
1 Smaller species of Goby(Clown, Neon, etc)
1-2 Cleaner Shrimp OR 3 Sexy Shrimp
1 Mithrax Crab
4-6 Turbo Snails
3-5 Hermit Crabs

What is a good brand for powerheads and hydrometers? How often should I do water changes? What kind of Goby(If any) can I get? Invert numbers good? Can I use FW chemistry tests for SW?

All help is greatly appreciated.
Old 12/16/2007, 07:35 PM
Registered Member

its far easier with a bigger tank, good luck
Old 12/16/2007, 07:48 PM
Premium Member

Definately go bigger. Read the newbie thread that is stickied on the top.

I have been researching for 18 months, and i have finally gotten to put rock and sand in my tank last nite.

Patience, money, and trial and error are a few things i have learned so far.
Old 12/16/2007, 08:28 PM
Registered Member