Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > Reef Discussion
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01/03/2008, 10:37 PM
Registered Member

Your opinions on Red Sea Salt

I just checked my Reef Crystal mix and Calcium is reading 320ppm. Time to switch.
So far Iˇ¦m leaning toward the Red Sea salt since it claims itˇ¦s 87% natural and was ties for the best in a MACNA study.

So any long term users of this salt and liked it? Were the readings consistent from bucket to bucket? Thanks
Old 01/04/2008, 08:49 AM
Registered Member

Ive been using it for abiout 9 months now and im very happy with it.
Old 01/04/2008, 10:17 AM
Registered Member

Several months too, after months of IO, one bag of Kent (6dKH), and very good Tropic Marin Pro Reef.

Better, then IO I had, but I prefer to change (add) salt with different composition to compensate weaknesses of any salt.

There is Red Sea Pro salt, with increased levels of Mg and Ca - bought, but didn't tried yet - my Mg kit is on back order.
Old 01/04/2008, 10:21 AM
Huge Member

I use it to de-ice my driveway

Keep using the reef crystals, just add a little Ca++

See, that's the trouble with the world today. Not enough danger to kill off stupid people before they get old enough to breed. Bring back lawn darts! -PrivateJoker64
Old 01/04/2008, 10:52 AM
Registered Member

All salt brands seem to have their short comings. Could be with alk, calcium,mg , inconsistent bashes, too much or too little of any particular trace elements. After doing some reading its hard to say any salt top the others.