Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > More Forums > Reef Club Forums > MidWest Region-Reef Club Forums > Central Illinois Marine Aquarists (CIMA)
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04/01/2007, 01:20 AM
Registered Member

New fish room setup

This is my first try at how the basement will be setup in the new house.

I'm wanting to get ideas of how to plumb everything together. I think I am going to cut out the current overflow/sump so that the tank will have about 6sq feet of more room on the inside. I will still leave the back area for the fancy wave maker. (the wave maker will be larger). The current tank has four 2” drains in the bottom. I only use three of them right now. I would like to run one drain to each of the two clam tanks. The third drain will go to a return pump that feeds some of the spray bars just like the current setup.
The clam tank will be elevated about 2 feet and they will drain into a 100G tub/sump. From this the two primary pump will get there water and feed half of it to the skimmer and the other half to spray bars much the way the current system does. Only difference is putting the clam tanks in series with the drains. The outputs from the skimmers will go to a 500g remote DSB / refugium. From here the water will gravity feed back into the main tank.

Main tank->
Clam Tank->
Sump->
Pumps->
Skimmers->
Refugium->
Back to main tank.

Feeding the skimmers into the refugium will allow all of the extra bubbles to dissipate before they make it into the main tank. It will also allow lots of pods to get flushed into the main tank from the refugium.