Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > Marine Fish Forums > The Fish Breeding Forum
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08/21/2005, 10:12 AM
Registered Member

Rotifers cling to the glass in the larval tank

Hi,
I have a problem, I keep clownfish larvae in a 5 gallons ALLGLASS tank and feed it with rotifers. This is my first time so I do not have a lot of experience yet. What I have observed is that a lot of rotifers stuck to the walls of the aquarium and to the bottom instead of swimmingin the water column. Does this happen to me only or you saw the same thing ? If so, what causes rotifers to stick to the glass ? I have not big water movement in the larval tank, due to the swiming abilities of the larvae, maybe this is part of the problem ? But what attracts roifers to stuck to the glass? in the first place ?
Old 08/21/2005, 01:19 PM
Moved On

What salinity do you culture the rotifers, and is there a great difference between that and the salinity of the rearing tank?

Rots can tolerate some rapid salinity changes, but if it is too drastic a change, they will not do well, and collect on the bottom. Joyce Wilkerson says that a change of greater than .007 specific gravity is too much.
Old 08/21/2005, 01:19 PM
Moved On

I am not very experienced, though, so you should wait to hear what the others have to say.
Old 08/21/2005, 03:49 PM
the cow flys at dawn

most of what joice says is true enough, but thats NOT rotifers can handle much higher swings than .007 with no ill effects. when i feed my reef i go from 1.012ish to 1.026 with no issues.