Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > Marine Fish Forums > The Fish Breeding Forum
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08/15/2005, 12:41 AM
Registered Member

Male or female?

I am just starting out in this hobby....I have salt water fish also, and when I go buy two fish of the same breed sometimes they tell me one is a male and another is a female. I never understood how you could tell with this. I know it's something to do with fins in so cases if now all....With clownfish, how can you tell what sex they are?

How can you tell with clown fish, for I am quite interested in them since I am just starting out I want to go with something small like them, and I think they are just quite adorable....What would you do with them if they had eggs? I had a group of freshwater fish at one time and they managed to produce young....Sadly all the babies died....Mommy kept on eating them. How do I avoid this situation incase something like this happens in the near future? And while I am asking, what would I do with the young if they do hatch? I am just getting started and reading this forum has started my brain turning....I think breeding is quite remarkable and interesting. If anything like this ever happens to me and being very new, I want to be ready...I just want to make sure I am prepared....Thankyou for your time...Also, if any of you read this and have the time, if you have any pictures of anything related to this please post them if you have the time.

Your time is apprieciated...Thanks

10g with a blue demsal (thinking of cleaning it out, giving the demsal away, and using it as a hospital tank)
Old 08/15/2005, 05:57 AM