Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment

Old 09/24/2007, 10:47 PM
RC Staff

This thread was automatically split due to performance issues. You can find the rest of the thread here: http://archive.reefcentral.com/forum...4#post10836824
Old 09/24/2007, 10:47 PM
Registered Member

yea, the very high output t5's, i forgot they made VHO's as well.

So they definitely need fans rigged up?
Old 09/24/2007, 11:03 PM
Registered Member

I'm not an expert as you can see i just posted another question, But i like the idea of fans there even if you don't use them just in case you ever need them on a hot day. I would run a fan or two just to keep the bulbs in the ideal temp? and for fresh air inside the canopy.
Hopefully Grim can confirm with what i'm saying.
Good luck I'm going through the same problem.
Old 09/24/2007, 11:34 PM
Super Deluxe Member v2.0

I picked up a used Tek 4x 24 fixture for my 54g corner bow front. Upon taking it all apart (to install a custom hanger I made) I noticed that it's powered by a Workhorse 5 mounted along the back side, while the opposite front side has a counterweight in the identical mount to balance the fixture. My question is, has anyone added a second ballast to this fixture? If so, is there something else other than a WH5 I can use in there?