Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > Selling, Trading and Transaction Feedback Forums > Vendor Experiences
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08/28/2003, 05:38 PM
Registered Member

Champion lighting

I am relatively new to the marine hobby, less than two years.
I Recently decided to move up to a 265 gallon aquarium and a friend of mine recommended
Champion lighting as a good source. I was told they were reliable and helpful as well as having
excellent pricing. I ordered my lights via phone instead of the Internet because I felt I needed some
assistance. When I called to discuss My $1200.00 purchase I felt really rushed through this process. I
had also ask how these lights were to be suspended and they advised chain. I asked about the system
that aquastar lighting company uses. As you may know this is a cable system that I was fond of. The
sales rep said sure you can use that and in fact we might have that in stock. I received all of my order
except the cables. I called to asked why and was told to wait for a week. I asked How I was supposed
to suspend my lights and was told to use chain. I happen to have 1 set of cables from an old Aquastar
light and thought I could get 1 hung The way I wanted it. I was to find out they were different holes,
1 standard 1 metric. I was disgusted and called again to ask why I was not informed from the
beginning and I got less than a satisfactory answer and were rude. What I got was posturing and not
customer service. The products were fine their service was less than I desire. I would hesitate to buy
again from such rude sales people