Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself

Old 09/23/2007, 07:42 PM
Registered Member

Custom Cabinet for 90g Reef (Build Thread)

I'm back!

I was forced to sell my 2yr old 30g reef during college when I took an internship in Florida and had to move away from Auburn for the summer of '06. I graduated the following fall, and moved to Atlanta in January of this year to start life in the "real world." My girl bought a townhouse, and with all that floor space it didn't take long for me to start pondering a new reef tank.

This time, it will be done right. I wasted a LOT of money on the 30g from impulse buying and a general lack of knowledge. Since rekindling my interest in reef aquariums I've spent countless hours over the last month or so reading up on Reef Central -- everything from T5 vs. Metal Halides to protein skimmers and UV sterilizers. The research is by no means complete, but in the mean time I bought a new Perfecto 90g Corner-Flo tank at Aquarium Showcase (great store) here in Atlanta, and started designing a home for it.

Here's my Sketchup model / design:

I modeled it somewhat after a custom cabinet I saw in Aquarium Showcase. It had a $3,000 price tag! No way I'm paying that.

I chose to keep the top shelves open (no cabinet door) to give the unit a less blocky appearance. I think it turned out nice.