Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > Invert and Plant Forums > Mantis Shrimp
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06/26/2007, 07:40 PM
Registered Member

My NEW new mantis shrimp :)

Well I got my new mantis (as opposed to the other chiragra I had gotten). I think is is a glabrous, but it might be a graphurous. I got a look at its tail and it didn't look like it has median carnule, but I don't know how obvious that is. Maybe Dr. Roy can give a positive id. I couldn't find the gonopods if they were there, so it is probably a female. Of course I am no expert! Anyways, I really really like this mantis! It is beautiful and way more interactive than the chiragra. It is very interested in what is going on outside the tank and doesn't hesitate to give a threat display. Anyways, enjoy the pics!

Old 06/26/2007, 08:02 PM
Registered Member

nice mantis t^

-Charles Darwin
Old 06/26/2007, 08:04 PM
Registered Member

first thing that popped into my head when I saw the pic: Glabrous. Anyways nice mantis. Good luck

Dan

"Sanity? What would I do with something as useless as that?"
-Kennpachi
Old 06/26/2007, 10:10 PM
Registered Member

Did you get this one from marine depot live or somewhere else?
Old 06/26/2007, 10:52 PM
Registered Member

I got it from sharkysreef.com
Old 06/26/2007, 11:45 PM
Registered Member

nice mantis! Im glad it's more personable for you than the G. chiragra
Old 06/27/2007, 09:16 AM
Registered Member

Nice pickup. You will love this mantis. I have one and he is uber aggressive but leaves the damsel alone. Squirtle will come from across the tank to tell you he doesn't what you harvesting his algae growth.