Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > Special Interest Group (SIG) Forums > Photography
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04/21/2007, 10:54 AM
Registered Member

Help me find a good tripod

I am completely new to tripods, but I will need one soon for my digital SLR. It is a Canon 300D rebel.

I be using it indoors for tank photography but also outdoors in the field shooting wildlife and other things, so it must be easily portable.

I basically am looking for a durable, lightweight, and hopefully compact tripod that can be used indoors and outdoors. I don't really want something that I will have to replace later. The camera and lenses that I use are not too heavy so i don't need a heavy weight tripod, but I may upgrade to a 30D in the future.

I've heard of 2 good brands so far, Manfrotto and Gitzo. I will probably decide on price range after I look at different models. I'm open to any suggestions.

Thanks a lot
Old 04/21/2007, 08:51 PM
Enjoying Life

Most high quality tripods that are adjustable are not very portable. LUK if you find one you like.
Old 04/22/2007, 01:01 AM
Registered Member

Not necesarily. Take a look at a Gitzo 1325 if you have a decent size budget to work with.

There's also the Feisol line of carbon fiber tripods. Very nicely priced versus the Gitzo. I've been using the Feisol 3401 for awhile and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

I've used both tripods with some decent weight on them and they perform very well (D2X w/500mm f/4 lenses).
Old 04/22/2007, 11:38 AM
RC Staff & Thread Pirate