Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community Archives > Special Interest Group (SIG) Forums > Large Reef Tanks

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #101  
Old 06/30/2007, 08:37 PM
stdreb27 stdreb27 is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: the Anthill, Houston, tx
Posts: 249
fun fun
  #102  
Old 07/03/2007, 07:09 PM
EBOLII EBOLII is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Deep within the uncharted Amazon
Posts: 142
Dudester how did you go about getting a quote on your tank? I searched around the AGE (Acrylic and Glass Exhibits) website and have not received any info from them. Just curious, interested in them possibly doing my tank
__________________
I am lost in everyway there is.............literally.............just plain LOST
Who am I?.............ebola [Human virus] + virii [Computer virus] = EBOLII
  #103  
Old 07/03/2007, 10:47 PM
gkarshens gkarshens is offline
Will work 4 corals
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,908
You have to go thru a retailer to order from them.
__________________
Gabriel

So shoot me!
  #104  
Old 07/04/2007, 04:27 PM
Dudester Dudester is offline
Team RC Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,522
ebolli - Gabriel's right, I ordered the tank through Kingfish, my LFS here in Austin. They got me a quote on the tank and stand in only a few days. Hopefully your LFS deals with AGE, too, but I don't know.
__________________
The Dude abides
  #105  
Old 07/04/2007, 06:44 PM
EBOLII EBOLII is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Deep within the uncharted Amazon
Posts: 142
sad not here in SC
__________________
I am lost in everyway there is.............literally.............just plain LOST
Who am I?.............ebola [Human virus] + virii [Computer virus] = EBOLII
  #106  
Old 07/04/2007, 06:56 PM
gkarshens gkarshens is offline
Will work 4 corals
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,908
Kingfish might be able to do it for you from here.
__________________
Gabriel

So shoot me!
  #107  
Old 07/04/2007, 07:01 PM
EBOLII EBOLII is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Deep within the uncharted Amazon
Posts: 142
can you pm me the contact info so I can get a estimate?


Sorry not intending to thread-jack
__________________
I am lost in everyway there is.............literally.............just plain LOST
Who am I?.............ebola [Human virus] + virii [Computer virus] = EBOLII
  #108  
Old 07/05/2007, 10:05 AM
Dudester Dudester is offline
Team RC Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,522
ebolii, pm sent
__________________
The Dude abides
  #109  
Old 07/05/2007, 11:24 AM
Dudester Dudester is offline
Team RC Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,522
need help with electricity

The system will be coming to my house very soon (hopefully), so I need to ensure I'll have adequate and reliable power before it's in place. The wall behind the tank has 2 outlets, but they're both on the same circuit (standard house circuit, not sure if it's 15 or 20 amp). My main electrical needs include:

lights (10x 54W T5's) = 540W
JBJ 1/3hp chiller = 250W
CL pump (Sequence Barracuda) = 325W
heater = 250W
chiller return pump (Eheim 1262) = 80W

... plus my sump return pump, pumps for reactors (skimmer, calcium and carbon), aquarium controller, Tunze Wavebox, and a bunch of other small items.

I'm having an electrician come to my house tomorrow to help me come up with a solution. I'm pretty sure I want the 2 outlets on separate breakers, but I'm not sure how to divide the load. I thought I'd just go ahead and prepare for 2000W, even though things like the chiller and heater won't be on at the same time, since I'd rather be over-supplied than under.

Any suggestions are welcome!
__________________
The Dude abides
  #110  
Old 07/05/2007, 12:06 PM
EBOLII EBOLII is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Deep within the uncharted Amazon
Posts: 142
Have you considered power backup for during emergencies or is that a later thought? I have been looking at some of the auto/inverter setups. Here in SC we tend to get allot of power disruptions from various weather

So this is inline with my power calculations. Not saying it has to be in your computation
__________________
I am lost in everyway there is.............literally.............just plain LOST
Who am I?.............ebola [Human virus] + virii [Computer virus] = EBOLII
  #111  
Old 07/05/2007, 12:51 PM
jnarowe jnarowe is offline
2011.5
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Poulsbo, WA
Posts: 9,742
All I can say is plan for much more. Like 100% more than what you calculate. I ran 100amps to my tank room and I am using all 5 - 20amp circuits plus the house current.
__________________
Jonathan--DIBS Breeder and Card carrying member of the Square Skimmer Brigade
(Click on the Red House to see my pics garage)
  #112  
Old 07/05/2007, 01:13 PM
bcoons bcoons is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 169
Electrical

Mike,

Looks like your major listed loads come to about 1200 watts(being heater and chiller won't be on at same time.) A normal 15 amp circuit is 15A X 120V = 1800 watts, which should be enough for your big loads plus whatever little loads may be added (Reefkeeper, etc.) You might ask your electrician if the wire size to the plugs will handle a 20 amp breaker, which would give you 2400 watts, which would be plenty. There is no need to go to the expense of adding another circuit and pulling wire at this time. I would advise using the money to add an emergency backup generator and transfer switch instead. That's what I'm doing.

Are you putting the new tank up against the same column where you had the old one? Or a new place?

I'm off all day today and just puttering around with my ham radio equipment. Call me if you want to talk about this a bit. Do you still have my cell phone number? If not I'll PM it to you.

Bruce
  #113  
Old 07/05/2007, 01:15 PM
bcoons bcoons is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally posted by jnarowe
All I can say is plan for much more. Like 100% more than what you calculate. I ran 100amps to my tank room and I am using all 5 - 20amp circuits plus the house current.
Wow! 100A X 120V = 12,000 watts! You must be running some heavy duty stuff.
  #114  
Old 07/05/2007, 02:40 PM
jnarowe jnarowe is offline
2011.5
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Poulsbo, WA
Posts: 9,742
yup. 3000 rated watts just for my halides. but what I did was put each 1000w halide on a seperate circuit with other small items. I have 2400W of heaters, multiple blowers, an Alita 100, several accessory pumps, Hammerhead return, 5 Vortechs, IceCap 660 for fuge lamps, lamp movers, etc. etc...the fact is I built my system specifically for reduced electrical consumption, but ran wire for a less efficent rating to have plenty of excess. As it is, I am always adding new stuff, tanks etc.

Since I had the wall out, I decided to run double my calculated need. It had to be done anyway, so why not run the extra wire? Actually, it's just heavier gauge wire, so the work involved was the same. I also ran RG11 into the wall for future entainment purposes.
__________________
Jonathan--DIBS Breeder and Card carrying member of the Square Skimmer Brigade
(Click on the Red House to see my pics garage)
  #115  
Old 07/05/2007, 04:54 PM
Dudester Dudester is offline
Team RC Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,522
EBOLII - We're lucky in Austin in that our power outages are relatively infrequent, and in the 6 years I've lived here we've never been without power for more than 30 minutes. My emergency backup power will therefore consist of an APC unit into which I'll plug my sump return pump. This will provide the necessary circulation and oxygenation to hopefully prevent things from getting too far out of whack.

jnarowe - I know what you mean about planning for much more, but the reality in this case is that I'll be moving to a new house in about 18 months, and I don't plan to expand too much on this current system while I'm in this home. The new house will be built with a pimped-out tank room and plenty of opportunities for expansion.

bcoons - Thanks for your advice, and good to talk with you on the phone. I'll heed your recommendations and see if I can upgrade to a 20 amp breaker.
__________________
The Dude abides
  #116  
Old 07/05/2007, 11:07 PM
ThomasinKind ThomasinKind is offline
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 186
Glad to find this thread, the last one was very informative. Do you plan to use the 30 as a QT?

-Thomas
  #117  
Old 07/06/2007, 12:05 AM
Dudester Dudester is offline
Team RC Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,522
Glad you found this thread too, Thomas. Even though it's less volume, I have a 20 long that is probably better suited as a QT than the 30 cube, just based on its length. I'll also keep the 30 running until it's time to transfer the fish into the new tank. I have a few corals that will also transfer, but FEW is the operative word, as I don't want to risk introducing bryopsis into the new system.
__________________
The Dude abides
  #118  
Old 07/06/2007, 01:27 PM
jnarowe jnarowe is offline
2011.5
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Poulsbo, WA
Posts: 9,742
Well if you are moving then no sense in going crazy!
__________________
Jonathan--DIBS Breeder and Card carrying member of the Square Skimmer Brigade
(Click on the Red House to see my pics garage)
  #119  
Old 07/07/2007, 10:37 AM
fishypets fishypets is offline
I brake for sps
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 693
Dude, I bet you have a TOTM under your belt in the future.
  #120  
Old 07/07/2007, 03:55 PM
Dudester Dudester is offline
Team RC Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,522
Quote:
Originally posted by fishypets
Dude, I bet you have a TOTM under your belt in the future.
That's awfully nice of you to say, but WAY premature and not very likely. But I appreciate your optimism!

As far as an electrical update, and after confirming with the electrician, I've ultimately decided to do nothing to increase the supply to the tank wall. The only way I'll get into trouble is if I abandon the plan for all T5 lighting and end up with a MH/T5 combo, but I hope this won't be necessary.


So it's confirmed ... tomorrow's tank move in day!!!!
__________________
The Dude abides
  #121  
Old 07/07/2007, 04:18 PM
jnarowe jnarowe is offline
2011.5
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Poulsbo, WA
Posts: 9,742
that's one beer for every ten feet right?
__________________
Jonathan--DIBS Breeder and Card carrying member of the Square Skimmer Brigade
(Click on the Red House to see my pics garage)
  #122  
Old 07/07/2007, 04:33 PM
Dudester Dudester is offline
Team RC Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,522
Let's see, assuming there are no amputees, ten feet would equal 5 people. No, Jonathan, I disagree, one beer for every ten feet is definitely not enough beer.
__________________
The Dude abides
  #123  
Old 07/07/2007, 04:45 PM
jnarowe jnarowe is offline
2011.5
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Poulsbo, WA
Posts: 9,742
I meant 1 beer for each person every ten feet the tank has to be moved. DUDE.
__________________
Jonathan--DIBS Breeder and Card carrying member of the Square Skimmer Brigade
(Click on the Red House to see my pics garage)
  #124  
Old 07/07/2007, 07:00 PM
GMFett GMFett is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 373
Send a message via AIM to GMFett
I'm stretched and ready my friend.
__________________
Click on the red house to visit my tank website.
  #125  
Old 07/07/2007, 08:16 PM
Dudester Dudester is offline
Team RC Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,522
Quote:
Originally posted by GMFett
I'm stretched and ready my friend.
Thanks, Marcus, now don't overdo it tonight. BTW, I now have a visual of you stretching ... not pretty .
__________________
The Dude abides
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef Central Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2009